The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Game Rentals

Weekend game rentals were a common practice during the early console days. Games were expensive then, with Christmas and birthdays the only two times a year I would get new ones. As such, I often begged my mom to rent a game or two for the weekend. As I look back, there were plenty I rented, never owning until years later, if ever. I would continue to rent them whenever I couldn’t find a new title I liked, or the one I wanted was gone. I give to you, the top 5 games I rented the most.

5. Final Fantasy III (SNES)

final_fantasy_vi

I begged and begged for this after getting a taste of it, only to be let down when Christmas came and it wasn’t under the tree. I saved my money and called every store that sold games weekly (KB Toys, Toys “R” Us, Electronic Boutique, Sears, etc.) looking for it, only to be let down. While I was fortunate enough to have a friend who lent it to me, it wasn’t until nearly 10 years later when I found a copy in a pawn shop, immediately snatching it up.

4. Castle Quest (NES)

castle_quest

Honestly, I don’t know why I was so infatuated with this. Maybe it was the colors. Maybe it was the unbridled frustration this caused when I failed, teasing me to try again. Or maybe it was the music. Let’s go with that.

3. Spider-Man and the X-Men in Arcade’s Revenge (SNES)

spider_man_x_men_arcade_revenge

I want to take you to a time before 2008, when superheroes in any medium aside from comics were not only terrible, but disgustingly subpar. Spider-Man and the X-Men in Arcade’s Revenge was awful in many ways. I remember saying to my friend that the level design for Storm’s stages (she was trapped in a fish tank) was smart because she flies, and they can’t make games where characters fly, that’s impossible. Yep. I think if I showed that version of myself the Avengers, my head would actually exploded (paradoxically).

2. Mega Man 2 (NES)

mega_man_2

Another case of a game I could never purchase. I did own Mega Man 3, which was entertaining, but there was something about 2 that beckoned me. Maybe since it was my golden fleece, I’ve always appreciated Mega Man 2 more.

1. Duck Tales (NES)

ducktales-5

I love Duck Tales, the cartoon, and the game. I could fly through the NES game way back when, knowing nearly every secret, able to best the game in less than 20 minutes. A feat I was quite proud of at the time. I never really looked for the game at retail, but was always happy to bring it home for the weekend.

What gamed did you like to rent? What ones couldn’t you find at the store? Comment below!

Damn spider bite. 

5 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Game Rentals

  1. Pingback: Around the Web – 9/7/14 | The Credible Hulk·

  2. Pingback: Week in Review: 9/13/14 | Stay-At-Home Gaming·

  3. Pingback: Around the Web – 9/21/14 | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

