The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Stories that Inspire Me

Everyone has a few stories, regardless of medium, that have stuck with them their entire lives, or influenced them in profound ways. These stories are ones that have done both. I find myself constantly revisiting them. As I’ve been embarking on my own work for the last few years, I’ve seen the degree these have effected me. These are stories that have more than inform my style and imagination, they molded them.

5. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas Wallpaper 1

It wasn’t so much the material but the style that opened my mind. Fear and Loathing is more than a tale of a weekend binge in Vegas, it’s a stream of consciousness. Hunter Thompson’s short but sweet book showed me not only how to expand my writing in interesting ways, letting myself show through, but how to have a good time while you do it.

4. Legacy of Kain

soulreaver1

This dark and twisting tale is constantly in the back of my mind. The complex webs and revelations are ones I’ve always admired. I’m not sure if the clever twists were there from day one (when Crystal Dynamics took over the series) or ingeniously added as the games went on. Regardless, the tale of these two left me in awe, something I strive for in my work.

3. Chrono Trigger

Chrono_Trigger_cover

You might begin to notice the common theme. Time travel. From the moment I experienced it, I loved it. The massive amounts of fun that could be had is endless. Here, the multiple endings along with the myriad of sidequests in the Fated Hour is only a small example. This is my favorite game. To the creative “Dream Team” of Hironobu Sakaguchi,Yuji Horii, Akira Toriyama, Masato Kato, and Nobuo Uematsu, thank you.

2. Back to the Future

top5bttf3

Again, time travel. I vividly remember seeing Part 2 in theaters, asking my mother what “To Be Concluded…” meant. Between this (which for me, there’s no bad part) and the previous entry, I was spoiled with amazing time travel stories back in the day. Since then, I was amazed at how many have bungled the execution, potentially ruining it for others. Reflecting on what went wrong with others, gave me an idea…

1. Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Full Metal Alchemist

The love these two brothers have for each other set against an enthralling world where they’re only pawns for other’s machinations while wanting nothing more than to undo their transgressions is heartbreaking. This is more than my favorite anime or show, this is my favorite story.

Soon, I will show exactly how each of these as influenced. I strive to elicit the same thoughts and emotions for someone else as these did for me. Hopefully, I will.

What stories have influenced you? Isn’t time travel awesome? Comment below!

Soon. 

3 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Stories that Inspire Me

  1. Pingback: The Flash (1990) Review – Better Than Expected | The Credible Hulk·

  2. Legacy of Kain! Such a great game series, definitely one they should be bringing back. Really cool to see that it’s inspired you/influenced your life. Always love reading about the way games influence and effect people.

Leave a Reply

