Comic Reviews: 8/20/14 – Multiversity #1, The Fade Out #1, Batman Eternal #20, & More

This is an interesting week all around. Nary a Marvel title in sight with a bevy of #1’s. One of the best books I’ve read in a while came from DC. Watch as I attempt to explain it. It’ll be entertaining for the both of us.

Little Nemo – Return to Slumberland #1

little_nemo_return_to_slumberland_#_1

Gabriel Rodriguez is the only reason I picked this up. For the art alone, I wasn’t disappointed. I wasn’t up on my ‘Little Nemo’ lure, but this did a good job telling me what I needed to know. Story was fine, though two months is a long wait between issues. Looking for something different, or something to read with your kids, give this a spin.

The Fade Out #1

the_fade_out_1

Confession; despite the acclaim, I haven’t read any of the work from Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips. This is my first. I wasn’t blown away, but entertained enough to continue. I’ve heard for years how the two have a style, here it’s readily apparent. The Fade Out is expertly crafted. I want more. Guess I have some reading to catch up on.

Multiversity #1

multiversity-1

This has been a long time coming, announced at the end of Final Crisis in 2008. Continuing many of the ideas presented there, nary a DC mainstay character is seen, with the cast featuring variations created by writer Morrison, such as black Superman Calvin Ellis. Some of the ideas were insane (a ship constructed of music), while others were creative (Nix Uotan’s transformaton), and some were mind bending (comics!). Overall, this was fantastic, but read slow. A bit of familiarity with Morrison’s DC would be helpful.

The Sixth Gun: Days of the Dead #1

sixth-gun-Days-of-the-Dead-1

I love the Sixth Gun. This new mini-series, Day of the Dead, knocked the first issue out of the ballpark. Cullen Bunn and Brian Hurtt continue to expand on the mythology of the world in astounding ways. The conversation in the final pages had me riveted. Mike Norton’s art fit perfectly with Hurtt’s, continuing the style of this world. Even if you haven’t read anything that came before, there’s no primer needed, you can jump in here.

Batman Eternal #20

batman_eternal_20

Batman Eternal is finally in the thick of it. Nearly every plot was touched on this week, pushing many forward. Croc’s story was the least interesting, but not for lack of trying. The last pages were fun, finally introducing something I’ve been waiting for. With so many threads wrapped up, I want to see what’s coming next.

What did you read this week? Comment below!

Why no comment bro?

One response to “Comic Reviews: 8/20/14 – Multiversity #1, The Fade Out #1, Batman Eternal #20, & More

  1. Pingback: Comic Reviews: 10/22/14 – Arkham Manor #1, AXIS Hobgoblin #1, Starlight #6, Multiversity the Just #1, Avengers #37 | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

