Comic Reviews: 8/13/14 – Batman #34, Captain America #23, Starlight #5, & More

Yay comics! I have a pretty big stack of books to get through this week, and they all look great. Now that Year Zero is finally over, I’m glad to get back to some regular Batman stories. I fell behind on Cap, but now I’m caught up. It feels like forever since the last issue of Starlight, or Inhumans. Still, looks like a great week.

Batman #34

batman_#_34

Looks like both Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo needed a month off (they both deserve it). The book was a nice one-shot by Gerry Duggan and Matteo Scalera. The story was fine, but Scalera shined, mostly. His fantastic art seemed hampered by the colors from Lee Louchridge. I understate the need for a muted pallet, but I think it hindered the art. Also, I found Batman’s disguise technique a little hokey. This was a fine holdover.

Captain America #23

captain_america_#_23

I had to laugh at the opening, “Few have ever successfully broken into this (Avengers) Mansion-“. Haha, yeah, okay. I had a little bit of a problem with Thor, Iron Man, or Hulk unable to take down dude on cover (won’t spoil it), but Steve could. At least Jet has real clothes now. I like how this is bringing back Dimension Z. A little goofy, but descent.

Starlight #5

starlight_#_5

I’m really enjoying this, it’s the most genuine work I’ve read from Mark Millar. I was sad seeing ‘to be concluded’ on the final page. Is this only a mini-series? McQueen was written out with the typical ‘left for dead’ scenario, while his comrades were captured. Normally, it wouldn’t be as exciting seeing the hero return, but considering the wonderful characterization of McQueen, particularly, his age, I can’t wait to see what he does.

Inhuman #3

inhuman_#_3

If the Inhumans are meant to be the next big thing at Marvel, they’re doing a terrible job keeping them at the forefront. Thankfully, the quality of the stories, or story, isn’t. Soule is doing a great job creating new characters. The foreshadowing has me intrigued. Looks like artist Joe Madureira is finally finished, with the next issue supposedly releasing in two weeks. The way Marvel works, I’ll bet we’ll see issue #10 before the year is out. Other than a hit on the wallet, that wouldn’t be a bad thing.

Astro City #14

astro_city_#_14

Well that was certainly sad. It was obvious what was coming once the protagonists were introduced, but man, it still sucked in the end. This run of Astro City has been great, continuing to showcase different aspects of this superhero world. I really want the next issue now.

What did you read this week? Comment below!

Up, up, and away!

Leave a Reply

