Around the Web – 6/15/14

What it is Hulklings! Let me tell you, do I have content for you this week. How to Train Your Dragon 2 finally released (I’ve been waiting a while for this one), a review for something special, if I finish it in time, another top 5 list that will surely have everyone talking, and another post from Saturday Morning Cartoons! What’s everyone else up to? Probably something to do with E3.

The Nostalgia Blog – Facebook / Twitter

Who doesn’t love a good flashback? The Nostalgia blog has everything you’d want from “hey, remember this?” to news of comeback from anything, 80s, 90s, or anything retro. Growing up across both decades, I constantly look forward to posts on this site.

dinosaurs1

Dinosaurs had a Really Depressing Ending – Dinosaurs was a staple of TGIF for a time (look it up). I too had never seen the finale. I’m not sure if I want to now.

Stay-At-Home Gaming – Facebook Twitter

It takes talent to add a different slant to video game writing, in addition to making it entertaining. Stay-At-Home Gaming has that in spades. While their reviews are solid, covering a wide variety of games old and new, I look forward to the random Gaming Fun posts. Everything at SAH is creative, and most importantly, fun.

E3-1

Top and Bottom Five of E3: Day One – There was certainly a lot of games on display at this year’s show. While I had plenty of opinions, I try to focus on evergreen topics, shying away from topical posts. Luckily, I agree with Stay-At-Home Gaming’s list, saving me the trouble.

What’s Your Tag? – Facebook / Twitter

With so much gaming news coming out daily, it’s easy to miss most of it. What’s Your Tag? has your back. From great reviews to all manner of gaming news, small and big, WYT? is smart and fun. Plus, their weekly comic strip is hilarious.

E3 2014: Super Ultra Dead Rising 3 Arcade Remix Hyper Edition EX Plus Alpha Prime Trailer was a “Drop the Mic” Moment – Hands down my favorite thing about this years show. This is what makes games awesome, celebrating them. Last year Sony had the game sharing video, this year it’s this. Why don’t companies celebrate games more often like this?

The Two Headed Nerd Comicast with Joe and Matt – Facebook / Twitter 

THN is one of my favorite podcasts. I can’t wait for the new episode each week. Hosts Matt Baum and Joe Patrick have a great dynamic, as well as produce a quality product. I know how much work goes into making a podcast, and seeing how tightly scripted their show is, along with all the background music, puts me in awe. Even if your interest in comics is passing, give them a listen, you’ll be entertained. Full disclosure, I write the Saturday Morning Cartoon series for THN.

thnludicrousspeed

Ludicrous Speed Review 6/11/14 – Hey look! Something not E3 related! What I love about these reviews are Aaron Meyer’s picks. I haven’t heard of half these books, and that’s saying something.

Button Smashers – Facebook / Twitter

Gaming and anime go hand in hand. Button Smashers has you covered on both fronts. The group of writers over there (which I’m proud to count myself amongst) publish great articles ever week. All manner of awesome and far out gaming corners are covered, as well as modern anime.

forzahorizon2

Microsoft Got it Right – Last years conference left a bad taste in my mouth from the console maker. This year, they seem to have their act together. Plus, you know, Crackdown.

What did you think? Want to be friends with The Credible Hulk? Comment below!

Seriously, loved that trailer. 

2 responses to “Around the Web – 6/15/14

Leave a Reply

