The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Anime Openings

Anime inspires some pretty divisive opinions. So does music. Putting them together makes for a pretty volatile opinion. I’ve seen plenty of anime music articles with none of my favorites making their list. So, I decided to throw my hat into the ring. Here’s my favorite opening anime songs.

5. Samurai Champloo

Shinichiro Watanabe series have music in their core. A vital part of their story comes from the beats and tones of the soundtrack. Samurai Champloo is a mix of old school samurais and hip-hop (it works, trust me). What better way to open the show than with a track from prolific Japanese DJ Nujabes. Battlecry is a fantastic track that set the tone for the show.

4. Cowboy Bebop

Take what I said above and apply that down here. Cowboy Bebop opened with the seminal track, Tanks! by Seatbelts, again, setting the tone for the series. The jazz tune, which I’m typically not a fan of, enthralled me, making want to watch the series for the old school action it portrayed against a sci-fi backdrop.

3. Death Note

For this one I’m going with the second opening song, What’s Up, People?!  by Maximum the Hormone. While I think the second ending song, Zetsubou Billy, by the same band, is a better track, I’ll stick with the opening song because of the title. This makes my list because it introduced me to a new band. Between these two tracks, I was intrigued to go out and find more songs by them. Now, I rock out to their music much to the chagrin of my wife.

2. Ghost in the Shell: S.A.G. 2nd Gig

Yet another song that turned me onto a great artist. I really enjoy Origa’s music, and it’s thanks to GitS that I’ve heard it. While Inner Universe from the first season is a fantastic song, there’s something about this that entrances me. I can’t say more without babbling.

1. Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

This was a hard choice. I knew from the outset that it would a FMA song that took my #1 spot, but which one? The first series had fantastic songs like Ready Steady Go by L’Arc-en-Ciel, and Rewrite by ASIAN KUNG-FU GENERATION (another great band), while Brotherhood had, well, all of them. But the first song, again by YUI kicked of the series, and is forever cemented in my mind with the Elric Brothers. Also, Shunkan Sentimental by SCANDAL, awesome closing song.

There you have it. As you can tell, most of my list was predicated by either songs that set a tone, or ones that led me to discover new bands. What are your favorite opening songs? Learn of any new bands from an anime? Comment below!

Probably going to rewrite that Brotherhood article. 

6 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Anime Openings

  1. Pingback: Around the Web – 6/1/14 | The Credible Hulk·

  2. I like the two openings for Attack on Titan. They set the tone for the episode you were about to watch, getting you ready for the crazy twists and fights that were about to occur. Overall defiantly two of my favorite opening songs.

  3. Pingback: Samurai Champloo – Remixed Results | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

