The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Super Nintendo Games

This was an incredibly hard list to write. Or maybe it was easy. Three of my favorite games appear on this console. For that reason, I won’t be writing a Top 5 games of all time list because more than half of them appear here. It was the remaining two slots that were difficult to fill. First the list, then the runner ups.

5. Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars

supermariorpgaxemrangersscreenshot_display

I played through this at least a dozen times. I would hit the level cap of 30 early, along with garnering enough Frog Coins to purchase all accessories and find all the hidden treasure blocks. Try as Nintendo might, there never was another game like this since. Why isn’t Mallow or Geno in Super Smash Bros.?

4. Super Mario World

supermarioworld

I was lucky enough to get a SNES early in the consoles life. At the time, there weren’t many games to play. Which was fine, because the system came with Super Mario World. It was a test of grit to get a 100% completion rating. First, there was the stupid level where you had to fly under the goal post (I think I only managed it twice). Then, there was the bonus levels after Star Road. Honestly, these were easier than flying under the goal post.

3. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

linktothepast

I’ve already ranked this as my favorite Zelda game. It’s nearly my favorite game ever, if not for two other entries that I’ll get to in a minute. I missed this when it released original, having to what for what seemed like years before it was rereleased as a players choice. I hand copied guides and locations of the Heart Containers in a notebook in preparation for this. I still remember where all those Heart Containers are today.

2. Final Fantasy VI

shadow-final-fantasy-vi

As I’ve said before, this was my first RPG. I didn’t know games could be so long, or tell such indepth stories until this. I visited a friends house who had rented it. Using the incredibly unique two-player feature, we played through the entire game together. It took us a month. That was one crazy late bill. I didn’t get my own copy until years later at a pawn shop. Why hasn’t there been a proper rerelease of this?

1. Chrono Trigger

Chrono_Trigger_cover

This game influenced me in so many ways. I think time travel is an amazing plot device. Because of this and Back to the Future, I didn’t realize how complicated the entire idea could be, or how easily it could fall apart. Aside from getting every ending, I played through the game enough times to not only get every character up to level 99, but garnered enough stat boosters to have everyone’s stats in double stars (maxed out). Chrono could easily best Lavos solo. I was a little obsessed. I still play this once a year on DS.

And so ends my top SNES games list. Four games I wished could have made the list were Secret of Mana, Castlevania IV, Super Metroid, and Super Mario Kart. But alas, 5 is the number and the number shall be 5. Or 3. Monty Python.

What are your favorite SNES games? Does Virtual Console need to be updated more? Comment below!

I miss this era of gaming. 

15 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Super Nintendo Games

  1. Pingback: Around the Web – 5/25/14 | The Credible Hulk·

  2. Pingback: Week in Review: 5/31/14 | Stay-At-Home Gaming·

  3. Pingback: The Language of Games Pt. 1 – Tutorials | The Credible Hulk·

  4. Pingback: The Language of Games Pt. 1 – Tutorials | Button Smashers Blog·

  5. Pingback: Final Fantasy VII – Groundbreaking Left Behind | The Credible Hulk·

  6. Pingback: Final Fantasy VII – Groundbreaking Left Behind | Button Smashers Blog·

  7. Pingback: Secret of Mana – Best Multiplayer RPG | The Credible Hulk·

  8. Pingback: Secret of Mana – Best Multiplayer RPG | Button Smashers Blog·

  9. Pingback: The Language of Games Pt. 2 – Intuitive | The Credible Hulk·

  10. Pingback: Final Fantasy V – Get a Job | The Credible Hulk·

  11. Pingback: The Language of Games Pt. 2 – Intuitive | Button Smashers Blog·

  12. Pingback: Around the Web – 7/20/14 | The Credible Hulk·

  13. Pingback: In Defense of The Legend of Zelda CD-i | The Credible Hulk·

  14. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Game Consoles | The Credible Hulk·

  15. Pingback: Arc the Lad Collection – Suck it Mass Effect | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

