New Comic Book Show Trailers – Flash, Constantine, Gotham, & More

Now that comic book movies have officially taken over Hollywood, it was only a matter of time before they invaded television. Comic based live action shows are nothing new, having been around for decades. From Shazam! (1974), to The Incredible Hulk (1978), and even Smallville (2001). Now, they’re taken a bit more serious. Two years ago the CW debuted Arrow. While it took some time to get going, their hitting a stride in season 2 (I’m a little behind, review as soon as I’m caught up). Last year had Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Though it took a while to get going (for obvious reasons), it picked up towards the end (again, behind, review forthcoming).

This fall (2014) will see the debut of an unprecedented five new comic book based shows. Trailers have been released for most, and the good news is they look great. Here’s my thoughts:

Constantine (NBC):

Until I saw this, I didn’t care. However, the trailer sold me. Matt Ryan, who’s actually British and blonde, seems perfect for the role. This could be like Supernatural, mixing case-of-the-week with an over arching plot. Better yet, there’s enough freedom to do as they please. I’m in.

The Flash (CW):

This was the one I cared the least about, not because I didn’t like the character, but because of how easily it could go wrong. Holy crap they went for it. The Flash (Grant Gustin) looked awesome. I know more is put into the pilot, so I don’t expect this quality weekly but, hot damn did it look good. This made me marvel (pun!) at the world we live in, where this is happening. Growing up, I didn’t think it would get better than this.

Gotham (FOX):

Unlike the last two, this one failed to rope me in. It seemed too much like Smallville. My biggest problem in that show was how he’d done everything before actually becoming Superman (forming Justice League, beat every villain, etc.). I know this follows Gordon (Ben McKenzie), but with all the characters already in play, it just rings false. Many became villains because or in spite of Batman. Everyone knowing each other already is just weird.

iZombie (CW):

izombie

Nothing to show for this one, nothing filmed. I’ve read the book (which is quiet good). Gwen (Rose McIver) works at morgue (gravedigger in show) so she has access to brains. Eating them prevents her from becoming a full zombie. Eating them gives her their memories, she helps solve their death. Hopefully this won’t become too case-of-the-week-ish. But it’s from Rob Thomas (Veronica Mars, Party Down), and considering the network, likely not. This will be a mid season show, about 13 episodes.

Peggy Carter – Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC):

The pilot for this was essentially on the Iron Man 3 dvd. No new footage has been shown (nothing’s been filmed), so here’s a clip from the One-Shot. I’ve been in on this since day one. Hopefully they can keep Dominic Cooper (Howard Stark), Neal McDonough (Dum Dum Dugan), and the rest of the Howling Commandos around in some form. Either way, I’m good. This will air when Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is on break in the same time slot.

Galavant:

Finally, we have one that has nothing to do with comic books, but I had to write about it. This is a musical-comedy-fairytale. ABC really went for it on this one. It reminds me of Robin Hood: Men in Tights. The best part is the music is written by Alan Menken (The Little Mermaid, Tangled, and my favorite, Aladdin)! I really, really hope this is good.

This isn’t even to mention the Marvel Netflix shows starting in 2015 with Daredevil. My head is spinning.

What shows are you looking forward to? Which ones do you think will fail (hopefully none)? Comment below!

Getting really sick of typing S.H.I.E.L.D.

Leave a Reply

