Comic Reviews: 5/7/14 – Original Sin #1, Futures End #1, Nailbitter #1, & More

What it is Hulklings! Got a sold pick of books this week, all of which not coming from the big two, though those were good also. I’m thinking about dropping Action Comics because of the Doomed story. Thoughts?

Original Sin #1:

originalsin1-2

The opening issue for Marvel’s latest event was a little subdued, and that’s not a bad thing. The last few, or all of them really, have had some sort of bombastic start. The very nature of this dictates otherwise. Aside from the Watcher‘s murder, the rest is all setup. I liked seeing different character bounce of each other, like Punisher and Dr. Strange. I was hoping for some massive last page reveal, but alas, it wasn’t meant to be. A good start, hopefully it will continue building.

The New 52 Futures End #1:

futuresend1

Not sure about this yet. Aside from Batman Beyond, there’s no characters here I care about. Jamming the Wildstorm cast in here doesn’t help matters either. I haven’t been paying attention to DC lately so I kept forgetting this is five years in the future, almost missing some cryptic lines. 52 made me care about a lot of characters I never did before, I’m hoping this can do the same. This did nothing for me yet, but it’s only begun. I’ll give it about 5 more issues.

Nailbitter #1:

nailbiter1-1

A serial killer that kidnaps people and bites their nails to the bone? I wasn’t sure what the story would be, but I was plenty interested from that. This is another homerun for #1 issues from Image. With the story unfolding as I read, I became more and more intrigued. The art, from Mike Henderson, was sinister and fantastic, setting a perfect gloomy atmosphere. Jump on this one, now. It’s going to be big.

Rat Queens #6:

ratqueens6-1

It’s been a while since issue #5. I’m still loving this series. What surprises me is how deep this series is after only 6 issues. Anywho, this one continues to move the plot forward while revealing more about their past and balance the action with some humor. I can’t think of another book that manages that. If the wait is this long between issues, but the final result is this good, it’s worth it.

The Sixth Gun #40:

sixthgun40-1

When the first arc ended, I remember thinking, how can they keep this series going? #40 issues in and my head is still spinning. The Sixth Gun continues getting better. Our heroes are now in dire straights, having lost all the guns (it’s on the cover). I’m asking my myself the same question, where will they go from here? I can’t wait to see.

What did you read this week? Comment below!

Those last three books were really good. 

One response to “Comic Reviews: 5/7/14 – Original Sin #1, Futures End #1, Nailbitter #1, & More

  1. Pingback: Comic Reviews: 7/16/14 – Original Sin #6, She-Hulk #6, Rat Queens #7, & More | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

