The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Comedy Movies of My Generation

There have been many great comedy movies over the years. Which ever ones you enjoy typically define your generation, be it Stripes or the Hangover. While there was plenty I left off this list, particularly ones I grew up watching. I narrowed this down to the few that defined my sense of humor in my younger days to now. I give to you my top 5 comedies.

5. The Big Lebowski

biglebowski1

The subtlety of this movie cannot be understated. Easily the Coen brother’s best. This is one I grew more appreciative of over the years. The repartee between John Goodman’s Walter and Steve Buscemi’s Donny was classic. “Remember what Lenon said.” “I am the walrus.”

4. 40 Year Old Virgin

40yearoldvirgin

While many will remember this as the vehicle that launched Steve Carrell, Paul Rudd, and Seth Rogan, I think of it fondly as a scary possible future. Fanboy mentality is something that’s only grown fiercer over the years. This servers as a warning to those who don’t put childish things away. Also, it’s pretty damn funny.

3. Borat

boart

I had no inclination to see this movie. I didn’t know what it was about, nor did I care. Free pass brought me to the theater. I have never left a movie happier. There’s something to be said about coming in with low expectations and being blown away. There was so much intelligence behind this movie. Though it was obviously lightning in a bottle, I’m glad it was caught.

2. Super Troopers

supertroopers

Shortly after its release on DVD, I was handed a copy and told to watch. I viewed it three times before I had to return it, prompting me to buy my own copy. I don’t know where this came from, and I didn’t care, it was amazing. Though the group has only one other good movie together (Beerfest), this still stand as the best. Easily the most quotable movie on the list.

1. Anchorman

anchorman

On a two hour car ride a year or two back, my friend and I begin reciting dialogue from the movie. Our girlfriends, knowing better, went to sleep. The rest of the trip flew by as we ended up reciting the entire movie. Needless to say, I’ve seen this a few times.

While Hangover was good, it marked the end for me as I haven’t enjoyed a comedy since. Though I grew up watching Ghostbusters and Groundhog day, they were never part of my generation. These are my favorite comedies of my generation.

What generation of comedies do you belong to? Comment below!

“No touching of the hair or face.” 

2 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Comedy Movies of My Generation

  1. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Boobs | The Credible Hulk·

  2. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Movies I Expected to Be Terrible (but Weren’t) | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

