Gaming Backlog – My Shame

Backlog. A curse word in some circles. It is the bane of many gamers’ existence. Like entropy, it continually grows, never lessening. Some don’t give up hope, holding onto the ever fleeting “one day,” when time stands still, and all the tasks and goals that have fallen by the wayside over the years can finally be put to rest, completed. For others, the crushing sense of reality sets in as they realize it will never come to pass.

supermetroid

Super Metroid

I am somewhere in the middle. Over the years my responsibilities exponentially grew proportionate to my age.  Someday, content with my millions of dollars to support me, I’d like to return to my backlog, playing through all these great games I missed. In the mean time, I’ll entertain you with a sampling. While my list is wide and varied, I narrowed it down to a six consoles (though you are missed Sega Saturn), with only five games per system. Please save your chiding until the end.

spirittracks

The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks

Let’s start at the beginning, shall we? Gaming in your childhood can be severally limiting. While things are different now with free games falling out of the sky, you were limited in the past. Birthdays and Christmas were typically the only time a new game was received, leaving you stuck with what you had. As such, on the SNES I’ve missed ActRaiser, Earthbound, Ogre Battle, Mega Man X,  and most egregious of all, Super Metroid. While almost half of these can be forgiven, Super Metroid stands out worst of all.

dragonscrown

Dragon’s Crown

While there were a handful of games that passed me by on NES, and all the Sega systems, I mostly kept up with everything until I graduated high school. Then the world happened to me. I purchased a Playstation 2 within the first year it released. As the PS2 rolled on, I managed to keep up with most of it’s offerings. While the first Playstation had seemingly endless quality RPG’s, the PS2 had more. As a RPG fanatic, I felt the compulsion to play them. Alas, as my adulthood began, my backlog grew. Final Fantasy XII (which I purchased the collectors edition at midnight even), Shadow Hearts: Covenant, Okami, Dark Cloud, and Killer 7 were just a few of the titles I desperately wanted to play.

ffxii

Final Fantasy XII

I fared worse on the next round of consoles, missing even more great games. On the Xbox 360, Lost Odyssey, Red Dead Redemption, State of Decay, Dishonored, and Bioshock Infinite are the games I want to play the most. For the PS3, Dragon’s Crown, Dragon’s Dogma, Dark Souls, Tales of Xillia, and Playstation All-Stars vie for my attention. The original Nintendo DS had the best RPG offerings of any console in the last 10 years, with Suikoden Tierkries, all three Dragon Quest re-releases (IV – VI), Final Fantasy Tactics A2, all three Castlevania games, and both Zelda games (Phantom Hourglass and Spirit Tracks) being some of the best the system has to offer, and I missed them all.

baldursgateii

Baldur’s Gate II

With my recent switch to PC gaming, I know have about two decades worth of awesome titles instantly added to my queue. Starcraft 2, Planescape: Torment, Baldur’s Gate II, all three original Fallout’s, and Civilization IV are a small sample that springs to mind. 

Do you know the worst part of this list? I own every game I named here. Everyone. Whether digitally, or in a physical copy, I own them. It’s only the time I lack. Something I hope I’ll have more in the future. Again, this was only a small part of my back catalog. There’s plenty of games and consoles I left out. 

What is the most egregious title you missed? Anything stand out as a sore thumb here? Comment below!

Don’t even look at my Steam collection.

19 responses to “Gaming Backlog – My Shame

  1. The thing that gets me are open world games. Whether it be an RPG (Elder Scrolls series) or action (GTA series), I always follow the same pattern when playing. I get the initial high of “must explore everything so main story will be put on hold” and go for hours upon hours of side quests. I’ll sprinkle some story missions to move the plot along if needed but by the time I really focus on the main path, my attention is directed elsewhere. As in other games. I don’t think I’ve ever finished any of the new Fallout, Elder Scrolls, or GTA games. And it’s a shame, but like you said, I hope to one day revisit them when I am independently wealthy and don’t have to bother with this “work” thing.

    • It’s mostly the RPG’s that slow me down. I can count on one hand the ones I’ve completed in the last eight years. Three of them being Elder Scrolls IV & V, and Fallout 3. I’ve noticed I do the same thing, I start as a thief type, stealing everything until I have enough money and stuff to make myself the ultimate warrior, then I complete the main story. Bit me in the ass with Oblivion though. Auto-leveling made the gates so damn hard I had no choice but to run through them, spamming potions.

      I was let down by GTA IV. I really want to play V, but I’m waiting for a PC release. At least, that’s what I tell myself.

      I’ve kept a list of all the games since the NES I want to play (type A personality). Funny thing is, if I had an entire year to do nothing but play them, I don’t think I’d finish.

  2. I made it my goal to fill my (virtual) house in Skyrim with all the books I could find. Silly premise I know, but boy did that take a lot of time and effort. The RGPs I’ve actually finished in the last couple years has been the Mass Effect series. I think the driving force behind that was the fact that I carried over my Shepard from game to game so I was compelled to see his story come to an end. Plus there are less side distractions in that series than say an Oblivion or Fallout.

    If you get a chance soon, I would tackle Bioshock Infinite. Its not terribly long (i think about 15 hours) but the pace is great and it really pushes you forward.

    I think I’m most comfortable with online shooters give the fact that I’ve spent over 200 hours in TF2 and am now fully engrossed in Titanfall on the PC. I think it’s the lack of a story that puts less pressure on playing so I can just… play.

    • I would laugh at your Skyrim goal but mine was just as bad. I mastered every skill. Let me tell you how fun it was to sit there for six hours crafting and enchanting iron daggers.

      I completely forgot about Mass Effect, I finished all three of those. The DLC for the third came out too late for me, I had moved on. I want to go back as a different gender, doing everything, but alas, time.

      What’s particularly bad about Bioshock Infinite for me is, I picked it up the day it came out. Played about half of it, then life happened, I put it down. A month later, I forgot everything and didn’t want to go back. It’s still sitting on my shelf. Season pass purchased and everything.

      I’m not one for FPS’, though I am a fan of Left 4 Dead. Titanfall though, that has its hooks in me.

      I think my biggest hurdle with starting a new game is learning. Sometimes I’m not in the mood to learn new controls, skills, etc. I just want to play. Which is why I’d opt for a new Mario or Zelda rather than Assassin’s Creed IV (looks good, but complicated).

      • Sounds like you had the market cornered on iron daggers. Your dilemma with Bioshock Infinite sounds so similar to my experience with numerous games. This is especially true during the wallet sapping Steam sales. I get a bunch of games for cheap that I’ve always wanted to play. Start each of them and play for a couple hours and then move on. My will to go back and actually pick them up and finish them diminishes with time as I lose focus on what the story was, what I was doing, or even the controls!

        Are you playing Titanfall on XBoxOne or PC?

        If you’ve played an Assassin’s Creed game before, then you’ll have no problem getting into the 4th one. It plays just like Assassin’s Creed 1 but with refined controls and the inclusion of ship battles. It’s a blast. Learning curve is low on this one.

    • If you want an Iron Dagger, I’m your guy. There’s been a few games I started and ultimately put down for too long to return. I’d say my worst offense for this was Tales of Symphonia on Gamecube. Thirty hours in, then stopped.

      Don’t get me started on Steam sales. I have over 400 games in my library. I’d say about 50 of them are nostalgia based, like the Legacy of Kain games. No intent on playing them, just like to look at them (OCD, away!)

      I’m playing Titanfall on Xbox One.

      I’ve played AC I & II. With IV, it’s not so much the learning curve as the time commitment. It’s, what, 40 – 60 hours? With Infamous: Second Sun staring me down and Mario Kart 8 and Smash Bros. on the horizon, who has time? (Ha!)

      • 400! Wow, I thought I was bad. I’ve had better self control with the latest Steam sales (I think I only bought a game or two last time) but when they discount a game down to $2.99, it is hard to pass up. Got KoTR just for old times sake like you mentioned. Don’t think I’ll revisit it any time soon, but it looks nice in my collection.

        AC 4 is long, you are right. I’ve been playing it an hour or two a night while my wife watches. Then switch over to Titanfall when she falls asleep and hope the kiddo stays asleep through the night for some uninterrupted gaming. There aren’t enough hours in the day. Plus this sleep thing gets in the way too.

        Since I don’t have an XBoxOne, PS4, or Wii U, I’m focusing myself on just a couple games as of now for the rest of the year. I think Titanfall will last me for awhile, maybe even to fall. But the next game I really want is the new Batman Arkham game from Rocksteady.

    • Granted, I’ve been buying games on Steam for years, paying no more than say, $15 for something like Saints Row IV with all the DLC. Still, ya, 400. I’m a consumer whore. I almost bought Velvet Assassin because it was $0.74, though everything I’ve heard about it was terrible. Stopped myself before that one.

      Between work, family, etc, I get an hour to play a day, maybe. Then I have my all the books on my Kindle staring at me. Life is hard.

      I let myself purchase 5 new games a year. The rest, I buy when they’re steeply discounted and 1-3 years old. Titanfall was the first purchase of the year for me. Arkham Knight will definitely be one. I love those games. Beyond that, I’ll wait and see what I’m doing when everything else releases.

  3. Pingback: Around the Web – 4/6/14 | The Credible Hulk·

  4. Pingback: Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars | The Credible Hulk·

  5. Pingback: Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars | Button Smashers Blog·

  6. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Xbox 360 Games | The Credible Hulk·

  7. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Super Nintendo Games | The Credible Hulk·

  8. Pingback: Around the Web – 6/8/14 | The Credible Hulk·

  9. Pingback: Xenogears Review – Kind of like Evangelion | The Credible Hulk·

  10. Pingback: Mark of the Ninja – Go Ninja Go | The Credible Hulk·

  11. Pingback: Mark of the Ninja Review – Go Ninja Go | The Credible Hulk·

  12. Pingback: Around the Web – 9/14/14 | The Credible Hulk·

  13. Pingback: Around the Web – 9/28/14 | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

