Kingdom Hearts II – The Only Good KH Game

It was a long, long wait for this sequel. Though Chain of Memories tided me over, it also increased my expectations. I needed to see what happened to Sora next. With news revealing levels in Tron, Pirates of the Caribbean, and more, along with promises of a fixed camera system, this looked to be the Disney game I wanted. Thankfully, it was, for the most part.

khII2

I’ve mentioned before how it took me a solid hour upon booting the game up to start playing. Sanctuary is a fantastic song that only increased my love of J-Pop. This was the most exhilarating song to start a game this side of Skyrim. Unfortunately, the momentum quickly died. The game started with a four hour prologue featuring Roxas. He is Sora’s Nobody (created when a person becomes a heartless). Nothing of substance occurred the entire four hours. Honestly, I don’t know how I made it past this.

Fortunately, everything flowed well after. Players took control of Sora, with Donald and Goofy in tow, and the world gallivanting began. The story became more and more nonsensical as the game went on, but I didn’t care, I was having too much fun. The levels this time around were a mixed bag. There plenty of new additions like The Land of Dragons (Mulan), Space Paranoids (Tron), the Pride Land (Lion King), and Beast’s Castle (Beauty and the Beast). However, more than a few worlds were recycled too. Halloween Town (Nightmare Before Christmas),  Agrabah (Aladdin), and Atlantica (The Little Mermaid) all make returns.  Though the levels themselves were redesigned, there was an overwhelming feeling of been there, done that. Aladdin is by far my favorite Disney movie but if I have to go to Agrabah one more time I’m going to vomit.

khII3

While the plot was only slightly muddled at this point, it wasn’t a difficult task to cipher through it all with only two games to play. KHII exacerbated the issue, adding Nobodies, and Organization XIII, and bunch of other nonsense I’ve intentionally forgotten.  Even with many parts lacking, there was still plenty of fun to be had. The final boss battle was a blast. And I don’t care what you say, taking on 1000 Heartless was a lot of fun.

Two days. I did nothing but play this game for two days in row, completing every task. I woke up early and played long into the night, foregoing what few responsibilities I had. Now, I don’t think I could play this again. At the time I was easily able to ignore the shortcomings. Now, they would stick out blindingly, forcing me to put the controller down.

khII4There have been six titles in the series since this released in 2005, with none of them being the third proper entry. This doesn’t even include the two HD Super Cut + 897% Remixes.

If you haven’t played this yet, and you’re interested, I highly recommend it, as it’s the best game in the series. That’s a relative term though. Plenty of people don’t enjoy this series, and I can see why. I haven’t played a KH game since.

What was your favorite level? What was your least favorite part of the game? Comment below!

Yensid = Disney, shock and gasp!

Leave a Reply

