The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Nintendo Games Not Developed by Nintendo

Like millions of others I cut my gaming teeth on Nintendo games. Much like Disney, Nintendo will always hold a special place in my heart. Over the years the developer has created such a catalog that to keep their line invigorated they’ve handed out some of their most beloved properties to other developers. Though there are plenty more Nintendo licensed games on the horizon, I thought I’d list some of my favorites to date.

5. Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon (Next Level Games – 3DS)

lugismansiondarkmoon

I almost missed this one, not realizing this wasn’t a homebrewed Nintendo game. The original Luigi’s Mansion was fine enough to kill time until Super Smash Bros. Melee launched. The sequel fleshes out the idea, giving the game more depth. The only reason this game was lost in the crowd in 2013 was due to the plethora of amazing titles launching that year.

4. F-Zero GX (Amusement Vision – Gamecube)

fzerogx

It’s sad that this is the latest F-Zero game, and it’s over 10 years old. Who knows if we’ll ever get a sequel. Amusement Vision, essentially Sega, created the best F-Zero experience to date. The blurringly fast speed and tight frame rate on the Gamecube was amazing, especially adding in the 30 race car count. Amusement made the right call by putting everything in the frame rate. Give me more!

3. The Legend of Zelda: Minish Cap (Capcom/Flagship – Game Boy Advance)

minishcap

Minish Cap was one of those games that when I finally sat down to play it, I demolished in a few day’s time. Every Zelda game at this point featured a unique mechanic. Giving life to Link’s hat seemed goofy on the surface, but made for some fun gameplay. Thankfully this was preserved on the Virtual Console for 3Ds in the Ambassador’s Program. I don’t know why this is seldom mentioned as a great Zelda title. I highly recommend picking it up when it’s widely available.

2. Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars (Squaresoft – Super Nintendo)

350px-Super_Mario_RPG_Box

This game was a perfect storm for me. Not only was I just discovering the RPG genre, but I was at the age when I had a few extra hours on my hands (i.e. all of them), and played through this multiple times. I left no stone unturned, finding every hidden treasure box and secret. I could easily navigate the timing based battle system without looking. Sadly, no game in the Paper Mario or Mario & Luigi line have measured up to the original’s quality. I’m still holding out for a true successor.

1. The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages/Seasons (Capcom/Flagship – Game Boy Color)

oracleageseasons1

The inventive system of creating two separate games that combine to tell a greater story was inspired, especially in 2001. The ability to port saved game data was a far off dream. Passwords were the key. While each game was fun by themselves, combining the two made the experience amazing. And honestly, who only played one of these? Original, this was meant to be three games, called the Tri-Force Trilogy, but passing data between three games became to unwieldy. Hopefully now with single site saved data the concept can be revisited.

What non-Nintendo Nintendo games makeup your list? Comment below!

Did the Other M cover image fool you?

One response to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Nintendo Games Not Developed by Nintendo

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: 3/29/14 | Stay-At-Home Gaming·

Leave a Reply

