The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Vampires – 100% Glitter Free

I was a fan of vampires before it was cool (suck it Bram Stoker). In the last decade or so, the totally and completely real creatures have been utterly emasculated and neutered. Looking at the current vampiric incarnations I shutter. To combat the ever growing army of fake vampire fans, I’ve cobbled together a list of my top 5 vampires, because this will fix it.

5. Andrew Bennett (I, Vampire)

i_vampire_03_page06_07_by_maiolo-d4gyvmp

I wasn’t sold on the concept of a superhero vampire comic, but the art was too good to pass up. I’m glad I did. While there’s been a few different incarnations of Andrew Bennett from DC over the years, I really enjoyed this one. The story had more twists, turns and reveals than I thought possible in a mainline book. Unfortunately no one else thought so, with the book being cancelled due to low sales. Andrew Bennett’s gone through hell and back, and it was awesome.

4. Alucard Tepes (Castlevania: Symphony of the Night)

symphony-of-the-night

I haven’t heard of single person who disliked Symphony of the Night, least of all main protagonist Alucard. While the idea of Dracula’s son had been around for some 50 odd years before, this was the first iteration for me. While there have been plenty of characters who shared the same name since, this is my ideal iteration. And even if they named him bojangles, I still would have thought he was awesome.

3. Spike (Buffy: The Vampire Slayer)

spike1

In the hands of anyone else, Spike would have turned out poorly. Due to fan popularity, he became a recurring character on Buffy. Unfortunately, the writers weren’t sure what to do with him. While there were times when he was obviously an accessory, he was still a fun addition to the show. Plus, James Marsters is a great singer.

2. Damon Salvatore (The Vampire Diaries)

damon1

I know Vampire Dairies is part of the problem with modern vampires stories and such, but I still love it. While the current season has been lacking, I still enjoy it because of Damon (Ian Somerhalder). Honestly, if they made a spin off where it was Damon being a witty and giving smarmy looks, I’d still watch.

1. Kain (Legacy of Kain)

kain1

Kain was the first vampire story I experienced and loved. His twisted tail of revenge stuck with me for years, and spawned one of the best series of games I’ve ever played (story wise at least). Perfectly brought to life by Simon Templeman, I hope Kain will return from the ether. Even if it’s a reboot, I don’t care.

What do you think? Who are some of your favorite vampires? Comment below!

Considered Lestat, but, you know, Tom Cruise. 

2 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Vampires – 100% Glitter Free

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: 3/8/14 | Stay-At-Home Gaming·

  2. Pingback: Legacy of Kain: Defiance – The End? | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

