Comic Book Reviews: 1/22/14 – Hawkeye #16, Deadly Class #1, Batman #27, & More

Holy crap this a big week. I had 15 books on my pull list this past Wednesday. When deciding on what to review, some were obvious choices (Deadly Class) while others were left out (sorry All-New X-Men). The most interesting release this week was Hawkeye #16, as #15 hasn’t been published yet. Some sort of printing error or something. Issue #15 will be out in two weeks. Let’s see if when suss through this Lost style.

Hawkeye #16:

hawkeye16

This a standalone issue, so as long as you’re generally caught up with the series, no harm in reading it before #15. I wasn’t sure before but now I’m certain that Kate Bishop is the weak link in the book. I loved her with Clint as a supporting character, but everything on her own as been weak and plodding. I didn’t care of the last issue (#14), her first adventure in L.A., and this is more of the same. This series has felt like it’s been derailing since its 3 month delay. I hope it gets back on track. Also, I hope letterer Chris Eliopoulos gets paid by the word because holy crap was this dense.

Deadly Class #1:

deadlyclass1

This is book is eight kinds of crazy and I like it. The story is a little slow at first, setting up protagonist Marcus. Things kick into high gear in the way on a comic book can. Rick Remender’s typically writes about trippy sci-fi and such, but it was nice to see him tackle something a little different here. The assassin-in-training story is rife with cliches, though I’m confident Remender can easily avoid them or spin them. Art from Wes Craig was top notch, but coupled with the coloring from Lee Loughridge made this book sing. This reads like a Mark Millar story, but, you know, good.

Batman #27:

batman27

Year Zero is starting to go on too long. Writer Scott Snyder is delivering a wonderful deconstruction of the character, adding new and original elements to the nearly 75 year character. The only problem is it’s now becoming belabored. I’m getting tired of the long, drawn out conversations monologues from Alfred and Gordon. It’s getting old. The art is a solid as ever, and Capullo adds in a classic Batman pose that still gives me goosebumps. Good, but I can’t wait for it to be over.

Chew #39:

chew39

I have been on board with this series since day one, and every issue has gotten crazier than the last. I’m glad we’re starting to get to the weird alien language stuff, and it’s just as zany as I’d hoped. Of course Olive and Amelia’s trip to the FDA wouldn’t be straightforward. The best part of each issue is the easter eggs drawn into the background, and this one was full of them. “You have the right to be Harlem shook.”

Animal Man #27:

animalman27

I’ve loved this series since the New 52 started, and I’m a little sad to see it ending. I would rather a story end on the writers terms than go on past it’s expiration. Writer Jeff Lemire is driving the family aspect here more than ever, with every member of the Baker family going through their own pains and struggles. Rafael Albuquerque is a perfect fit on art, and I’m glad to see him finishing the last arc of the series. I’m expecting a heavy dose of melancholy next month.

That’s it for this weeks books. I’m going back to Parker Slayground. What did you think of this weeks books? Comment below!

Lazy Sunday, ha. 

Leave a Reply

