The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Movie Directors

I thought about being cute with this list at first, not including the movie descriptor in the title and adding directors of all sorts. When I realized I could write more by subdividing, I decided to go with just movie directors. Every director here has earned my trust. While a few have had a bump in the road or two, I still look forward to their next project with anticipation. When they have a new movie coming out, I’m there day one.

5. Edgar Wright

directors1

Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz were great, but Scott Pilgrim was fantastic. I had an idea of what I was getting into with the latter, but was still blown away. I only wish more people had seen it. I didn’t think it would happen but Wright if finally starting work on Ant-Man (starring Paul Rudd!). He’s been talking about this for almost 10 years. His involvement in a Marvel movie only heightens my expectations.

4. Joss Whedon

Joss Whedon

I could just say Avengers and leave it at that, but Whedon is much more. While his only previous big screen movie was Serenity, I knew Avengers was in safe hands. Having created Buffy, Angel, Firefly, and Dollhouse, I knew he understood team dynamic. Not to mention his superb run on Astonishing X-Men. I was a Whedon-ite long before Avengers. Now I want him to direct everything.

3. Christopher Nolan

directors4

While the Batman trilogy was fantastic, delivering the best cinematic interpretation we’ve seen of the character, it’s his original work that entices me. Memento, The Prestige, Inception, these are all great, original films that at their cores, are based on singular ideas. Each have a theme and twist that make them enthralling to watch. Considering the love and effort he puts into his work, he’s made me a life long fan. I can’t wait for Interstellar.

2. David Fincher

directors3

I’ve mention before how Fight Club changed my life. There’s something about his style that resonates with me. While I don’t unabashedly love all his work, what I do has changed my perspective on story telling in general. Fight Club and Seven are must sees while Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Social Network both come in close seconds. I know nothing of his new movie, Gone Girl, but will gladly pay to see it.

1. Quentin Tarantino

directors5

This man understands movies. There is a language and feel to each genre that he’s able to perfectly capture while adding his own flair. From western to war, heist and even kung-fu, he’s done it all. Not everything he’s done is golden (Jackie Brown, Death Proof), but they’re still leagues better than most. Tarantino recently announced he’s only writing/directing a total of ten films. With seven down, I’m anticipating the next three all the more (his next is another western).

And so ends my list etched in stone forever and all times. How does your list compare? Comment below!

There needs to be more female directors. 

12 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Movie Directors

  1. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Tarantino Flicks | The Credible Hulk·

  2. Pingback: Movie Trailer: Interstellar | The Credible Hulk·

  3. Pingback: X-Men Last Stand vs Superman Returns | The Credible Hulk·

  4. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Showrunners | The Credible Hulk·

  5. Pingback: Gone Girl Review – Hopeless Perfection | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

