Comic Book Reviews: All-New X-Factor #1, Swamp Thing #27, Young Avengers #15

I know I picked two Marvel books last week, but there’s was two releases I really wanted to discuss. Oh, and hey look, a DC book. Yay!

All-New X-Factor #1:

allnewxfactor11

I’ve been really looking forward to this series since Peter David’s last incarnation of the team ended. Sadly, it left me a little wanting. The dialogue was great, but the exposition was a little much. It was nice to see that this was a direct continuation of the last series, mentioning some of what happened. The art from Carmine Di Giandomenico was sharp and fluid. Inconsistent art was a problem on the last book, hopefully that won’t be the case here. The last page reveal left me a bit confused (I had to do some looking up). Still, considering how amazing David’s last run was, I’m in for the long haul.

Swamp Thing #27:

swampthing27

Charles Soule continues to amaze on this book. His seeder storyline has been interesting throughout, adding new dimensions to the green, the parliament, and being an avatar for the green. It was a little shaky at first with the Whiskey Tree, but I’m glad I stuck with it. This is turning out to be more enthralling than Scott Snyder’s run. Hopefully Soule has more stories to tell, I don’t want this to end.

Young Avengers #15:

Young-Avengers15

I wanted to touch on this because it was the final issue. I enjoyed the series overall, it was constantly fresh. Honestly though, I lost a bit of the thread as the issues progressed. It heavily relied on characters that I’m not intimately familiar with and told a pretty heady story. This is par for course for Kieron Gillen though. Most of his other work has a bit of aloofness to it that I can’t grasp. Still, I had fun. The art was always consistent and amazing with Jamie McKelvie pencilling. While this wasn’t always at the top of my pile, it was still a fun read. Maybe third time’s a charm with the next YA book?

What did you read this week? Anything you’re looking forward to? Comment below!

I has a puppy. 

Leave a Reply

