The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Movies of 2013

Even though I had a list of all the movies I’d seen this year to pull from, it was incredibly difficult culling them down to just 5. Let alone trying to order them. As much as I wanted to put Catching Fire and American Hustle on the list, there just wasn’t room. Without further ado, my top 5 movies of 2013

5. Pain & Gain

I saw this on a date because there was nothing else playing that weekend. I am so glad I did. This is a very dark comedy, that I do highly recommend though I know it’s not for everyone. This is the only movie I’ve seen this year twice in theaters.

4. Thor: The Dark World

darkworld1

I was worried for phase 2 of Marvel movies after the lackluster Iron Man 3. This lowered my expectations for Thor, which helped me be blown away by the final product. Thor 2 was fun all around. The final battle was one of the most inspired I’d seen in a superhero flick yet.

3. Frozen

Disney’s been on an upswing since Tangled and Wreck-It Ralph. Frozen took the momentum from those two and built on it. Every princess cliche was turned on its head. I was happy to see the lessons Disney was teaching to kids. Adding in the fantastic score, easily my favorite Disney movie since Aladdin.

2. The Wolf of Wall Street

Funniest scene in the movie

Funniest scene in the movie

I waited to write this until I’d seen Scorsese’s latest. I had a feeling it would need to be included. Easily the funniest movie of the year. Though it has a long run time, it moved a quick pace, not letting anything drag on too long. Despite a sudden downturn at the end, I laughed the entire three hours.

1. Gravity

Gravity3

Nothing captivated me more this year than Gravity. I was on the edge of my seat. I felt everything Bullock’s Ryan Stone did as she desperately tried to regain control, adrift in space. This was thanks to the smart direction from Alfonso Cuaron. The movie was gripping and scary. Watch this one in the dark.

What were your favorite movies this year? Did you see something I didn’t? Comment below!

I mulled over this for hours… or minutes. 

7 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Movies of 2013

  1. Cuaron pulls off those long take shots so well. Have you seen Children of Men? There’s a single take that spans about ten minutes of a battle sequence. It’s beautiful.

  2. Pingback: My First Year Writing | The Credible Hulk·

  3. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Movies I Expected to Be Terrible (but Weren’t) | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

