The Wolf of Wall Street Review – Scorsese’s Best since Goodfellas

I had no desire to watch The Wolf of Wall Street after seeing the trailers. Leonardo DiCaprio looked to be playing a character I’ve seen once or twice before. Nothing seemed new or jumped out at me. Word of mouth spread from early screenings. The enthusiasm in their voice describing the movie was contagious. My opinion quickly changed, and I’m glad it did.

wolfwall5

That’s Walking Dead’s Shane

This is the longest movie I’ve sat through since Grindhouse, clocking in at three hours. The time flew by. I didn’t feel the need to check my phone, or felt impatient. Nearly the entire film was smartly edited, keeping everything moving at a brisk pace. Aside from a speech DiCaprio gives around the mid point, the movie didn’t have a dull moment. I was completely entertained throughout, laughing hysterically. Did I mention the humor?

Wall Street is easily the funniest movie I’ve seen this year. The humor was smartly written and didn’t come from one liners, quips, or punchlines. No awkward, or overly long jokes either.  This type of comedy is incredibly difficult to execute, but they do so wonderfully. Easily the funniest part of the movie was the scene at the country club. The entire theater was roaring.

Funniest scene in the movie

Funniest scene in the movie

DiCaprio was exactly as you would expect him to be as a leading man. Jonah Hill was the standout here. For years he’s been trying to establish himself as something more than a stereotypical overweight comedian. While I can’t speak to his previous dramatic-esq roles, he certainly cemented his abilities here. His glasses, teeth, and general demeanor add to his character. He looks goofy, but believable, working wonderfully with DiCaprio. Meanwhile Margot Robbie plays DiCaprio’s wife, and completely nails the part. I’ve never heard of her before, but I hope to see her in more.

Look at those teeth...

Look at those teeth…

While there’s so much to love about the movie, a scene at the end grinded everything to a halt. DiCaprio is clearly an antihero, but was very likable until this. I don’t want to go into details, but you’ll know it when you see. This almost made me feel wrong rooting for him. I don’t know how this could have been handled better. Regardless, it makes me feel uneasy. Maybe it’s a metaphor for how all good things must come to an end. Like DiCaprio’s Jordan Belfort, stay too long and you’ll become the villain. Deep yo.

A word of warning, be careful who you watch this with. There is a lot of sex and nude scenes. Like wow. I wasn’t bother by it as it wasn’t gratuitous and in context. Considering I nearly brought my grandmother (she loves Scorsese), I’m incredibly thankful I didn’t. Don’t see this with your parents. About 17 minutes was edited from the movie to avoid a NC-17 rating. Seeing what was left in, it makes me wonder what was removed. Some other random thoughts: Matthew McConaughey is awkwardly in this for about 5 seconds. The marching band was a bit much. Rob Reiner was awesome.

Tame compared to everything else

Tame compared to everything else

The Wolf of Wall Street is a great movie, despite one or two hiccups. Considering how the three hours flew by, I knew this was something special. This is best Scorsese movie I’ve seen since Goodfellas. Make a point to see this.

What did you think was the funniest scene? Did the bump at the end ruin it for you? Comment below!

I has the sleeps.  

8 responses to “The Wolf of Wall Street Review – Scorsese’s Best since Goodfellas

  1. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Movies of 2013 | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

