The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Video Games of 2013

As the year draws to a close, the year in reviews start to flood the internet. Joining the crowd is mine, for video games at least. Here’s my list of comics from last week. Disclaimer: As much as I’d love to play every game, or more games, I can’t. This is why certain titles don’t make an appearance (GTAV, Assassin’s Creed IV, etc.).

5. Tomb Raider

tomb-raider-2013-video-games

Taking a page from Naughty Dog’s Uncharted (which took a page from Tomb Raider), this game featured some of most realistic and gritty moments in a video game. While I wish they’d gone farther with certain elements (more puzzles, hunting, etc.), this is still a great new direction for the series. I can’t wait for more.

4. Super Mario 3D World

3dworld3

Mario’s been a little stagnant the past few years, making me fear for the future of the series as godfather Miyamoto has become less involved. 3D World made my concerns unfounded, giving me one of the best Mario experiences since Galaxy 2, or even the original World on SNES. Beyond making co-op viable and fun, this featured the best power-ups since Mario 3 on NES. 3D World is the reason to buy a Wii U.

3. The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds

lbw4

Link Between Worlds gave me two things I wanted, a remake of Link to the Past, and new takes on the Zelda formula. Throwing out what wasn’t working (overly long tutorials), this game broke the long standing tradition of linearity and item acquisition in exciting ways. While it feels like they played it a little too safe, with much of the content recycled, the mechanics proved to be sound. This is start of a new type of Zelda.

2. Gone Home

Gone_Home

The best narrative experience in a game I’ve ever experienced. I had so many questions starting out. Nothing, not even the premise was known before I started. I implore you, don’t read my review until you’ve beaten the game. For the price of a movie ticket you can experience a guaranteed amazing story in the same amount of time.

1.  Last of Us

lastofus3

Story is always king for me. As such, it was a toss up for the number #1 spot. Last of Us won out. Ellie’s look in the screen shot above is solely why. Everything that built up to the moment between her and Joel, their trip across America, surviving winter, the giraffe, it all lead up to that. Thinking about it now still chokes me a up a little. Repeating my review’s tagline, this is the game of the generation.

What were your top games for the year? Agree with my picks? Comment below!

I played more old games this year than new.  

Leave a Reply

