The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Dumbest Xbox Achievements I Have

I was an achievement whore. From the moment I picked up my 360 at launch, I was all about them. I tried to get all 1000 points in every game, no matter the time commitment. Now that I’m all grown up, I look back at the time I wasted with contempt. Alas, what is done, is done. Now I look at my gamer score and shake my head. Here are the dumbest achievements I have:

5. Roogoo – Meemoo Headache (7 G)

achievements1

I doubt anyone remember this little gem. It was a fun, Tetris like shape puzzler for XBLA. I never got the full 200 points for this game because of the multiplayer component. No one was playing it online. It was impossible to find matches. As such, I couldn’t get the corresponding 3 point multiplayer achievement, forever breaking my gamerscore. Instead of ending in a 5 or 0, my score ends in a 7 or 2. I can’t tell you how much this hurt my OCD side.

4. Avatar: The Last Airbender: TBE (All of It)

achievements2

This game was infamous for a quick 1000 points. Performing a 50 hit combo would net you 300 points, along with the other 700 points for hitting combos 10 – 40. Better still, a 50 hit combo can easily be performed within the first 2 minutes of gameplay. A quick rental netted me these points.

3. Sneak King – Winner! (5 G)

achievements3

Burger King released three commercials games on the 360 at the end of 2006.  While Big Bumpin’ and PocketBike Racer were garbage, Sneak King was surprising decent. “Winner!” is the first achievement in the game. This just shows the depths I went to increase my gamer score.

2. Superman Returns – Frequent Flyer (30 G) – Travel at least 10,000 miles

achievements4

I included the description in the title to show what needed to be done to unlock these paltry 30 points. Determined to get my 1000 points from this horrible movie tie in game, I tied rubber-bands to my controller, letting the game run for hours. While the other achievements were easily obtained through regular gameplay, it was impossible to not come up 9,000 miles short of 10,000 by the end of the game. I fitted the rubber-band to make Superman fly in a circle. Over 5 hours later and my 30 points were unlocked.

1. Prey – Young Blood (10 G) – Reached 50 kills total in Death Match 

achievements5

I hate online FPS multiplayer games, for many reasons. The fact that I played this game online, on Christmas no less, to unlock all the multiplayer achievements showed the depths of my insanity. “Young Blood” was the first multiplayer achievement I unlocked that night. I actively thought about how much fun I wasn’t having as I played. Short of my 1000 point goal, I stopped before unlocking the final two achievements, requiring 125 and 250 kills in team death match. While my achievement whoring continued for some time, this was the first step in the healing process, the first time I walked away.

There were many games I suffered through that didn’t make the list (N3: Ninety Nine Nights, King Kong), and a few I did enjoy earning all the points (Dead Rising). I can’t remember the last game I tried to earn all the points. I still look at the list once I’ve finished the game to see if they’re any fun ones, but for the most part I play games for fun again.

What’s the dumbest achievement you have? Worst game you played to get them? Comment below!

Thank god Trophies never sucked me in. 

4 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Dumbest Xbox Achievements I Have

  1. Trophies tend to ruin games for me if I pay attention to them. If I know I have to kill 100 enemies with shotguns to get a trophy, I’ll force myself to use the shotty.

    Nowadays I won’t look at any requirements until after I finish the main game. Otherwise the trophy board dictates how I play, and thus kills the immersion.

    • I know exactly what you mean. I would plot out how I played by whatever the achievement/trophy list dictated. I would crawl through games, freaking out if I thought I missed something, rather than just playing.

  2. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Game Consoles | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

