The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 (Non-Animated) TV Theme Songs

I love me a good theme song. While I could easily whip up a top 20 list for my favorite cartoon themes, this was a little more difficult, particularly because I went for ones with lyrics. Otherwise the likes of Quantum Leap or A-Team would have made an appearance. As anyone who’s had the (mis)fortune of going on a road trip with me knows, singing will be had. Ducktales is always a mainstay, along with a few of these.

5. Batman (1966) – “Batman Theme”

Everyone and their mother knows this theme song. I remember watching the reruns in my youth, genuinely concerned that they dynamic duo wouldn’t survive whatever predicament they were placed in. Usually, the show aired in an hour block, with the second part following the first. Once I missed a second part due to a doctors appointment. It nearly broke me. Being 8 was hard.

4. The Muppet Show (1976) – “The Muppet Show Theme”

I love the Muppets. They are the original family oriented show, with entertainment for any age. While I grew up watching Muppet Babies, I quickly devoured the original show when I discovered it. I love Sweetums, and Bobo. And the Swedish Chef. “It’s time to light the lights.”

3. Highlander (1992) – “Princes of the Universe”

Syndicated shows were all the rage in the 90’s. One of my favorites was Highlander, based on the 1986 movie. The show feature immortals with the ability to produce a katana when needed to fight other immortals. I was sold. The show opened up with a bitchin’ track from Queen. “Here we are, born to be kings we’re the princess of the universe!” Hearing Freddy Mercury belt out that acapella line made you sit up and pay attention.

2. Firefly (2002) – “The Ballad of Serenity”

I promise, this won’t turn into a lamentation over the loss of Firefly, I’m just happy it existed. The opening theme song was composed by nerd-god Joss Whedon. While the final version was song wonderfully by Sonny Rhodes, there’s a cut of Whedon himself performing the song on the DVD extras. I love the man’s creative mind, but a singer he is not. Luckily, Sonny is. If there’s a song on this list you haven’t heard, it’s likely this one. if there’s a song on this list you need to hear, it’s this one.

1. Fresh Prince of Bel-Air (1990) – “Yo! Home To Bel-Air”

Fun fact about this song, it recently caused a bomb scare. In March, 2013, a receptionist called a 17 year old high school student to confirm his appointment. His outgoing voicemail was this song. Rather than hearing “And all shooting some b-ball outside of the school,” she hear “shootin’ some people.” Opting to not dislodging her head from her ass, she promptly altered the authorities, putting the school on lockdown and taking the student into custody. After hours of interrogation, he was cleared. I guess not everyone loves the Fresh Prince.

Something on this list you haven’t heard before? How does it compare to yours? Comment below, on Facebook, or Twitter! You can now see my Saturday Morning Cartoon posts at The Two-Headed Nerd!

“Believe it or not, George, isn’t at home.”

2 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 (Non-Animated) TV Theme Songs

  1. Pingback: Highlander: The Series – Swords and Ponytails | The Credible Hulk·

  2. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Showrunners | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

