The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Lines from Back to the Future (Jiga-Watt Free)

Back to the Future is easily in my top movies list, and my favorite trilogy. While I was too young to see the original in theaters, I have vivid memories of seeing parts two and three, and asking my mother what “To Be Concluded…” meant at the end of part two. As 2015 approaches, it’s looking less likely we’ll have hoverboards (I’m still holding out hope, Mattel). While we all hold our breathes in anticipation for the second coming of Marty McFly in two years, I’ve compiled a list of my favorite lines from the series. 100% Jiga-Watt free. That’s too easy, everyone knows that one.

5. Biff Tannen: “Why don’t you make like a tree, and get out of here.”

top5bttf1

Ah Biff. Your eloquence knows no bounds. While the bully made an appearance in one incarnation or another throughout the trilogy, his articulation never seemed to change. There were quite a few Biff-isms throughout, but this one sums them all up nicely. As does “screen door on a battleship.”

4. Young Doc: “No wonder this circuit failed. It says “Made in Japan”.”

top5bttf2

This one always made me laugh because of how anachronistic it is. The line was meant as a jab to point out how much the world has changed from ’55 to ’85, particularly as far as the electronics industry is concerned. I think it’s even funnier now since Japan is easily swapped out for China.

3. Dr. Emmett Brown: “Is there a problem with Earth’s gravitational pull in the future? Why is everything so heavy?”

top5bttf3

Oone of the many quick jokes inserted throughout the series. Colloquialisms change over time. The movies brings this to attention, particularly with Marty using “heavy” to describe everything that was large or overwhelming. Doc picking up on these turn of phrases and not understanding, taking them literally, is just an added layer of charm.

2. Dr. Emmett Brown: “Roads? Where we going we don’t need roads.”

top5bttf4

You had to know this one was coming. It’s such a classic line that invokes a sense of awe, setting up for the final image of the car flying into the future. It would have been number one if not for the next entry.

1. Data: “Hey McFly, you bojo, those boards don’t work on water!” Whitey: “Unless you’ve got POWER!”

top5bttf5

This is easily my favorite line from the entire series, mostly because it has everything to do with hoverboards. I have shirts that say this and I run around my house yelling it at my eye rolling family. They don’t understand. I don’t think I’ll stop yelling this once I get my own hoverboard, regardless if it’s 2015 or later. Hoverboards, it’s happening.

What’s your favorite line from the trilogy? Does your list match up with mine? Comment below, on Facebook, or Twitter! You can now see my Saturday Morning Cartoon posts at The Two-Headed Nerd!

“MACFLY!” – Fujitsu

2 responses to “The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Lines from Back to the Future (Jiga-Watt Free)

Leave a Reply

