Fight Club – 50th Post!

I wanted to do something a little different for this post and talk about something very dear to me, Fight Club. I know it’s a little cliche but this movie did change my life and I will always remember the first time I saw it.

October 15th, 1999. I just got my drivers license the previous summer and drove around town in my awesome gray ’91 Corsica. My best friend, John, and I cruised the mean streets of our incredibly white rundown suburban neighborhoods listening Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Californication or Limp Bizkit Significant Other (two albums I still know all the words to to this day). This Friday we decided to go the movie theater. Looking at the list of currently playing films, we picked Fight Club based on the name alone. Both of us being 16, we had to convince the cashier to admit us to the rated R movie (17 and up).

“Are you 17?”

“Ya, I don’t have a license yet.”

“Okay, let me check.” As she takes our money without another word printing the tickets. We were confused by what she meant with “Let me check.” Cautiously we took our tickets and went into the theater.

At this point I don’t think I’ve seen a movie with Brad Pitt or Edward Norton. The former struck me as only man-candy and the latter I’d never heard of. For the 139 min run time, I was mesmerized. Every teenager has their own crazy notions about life. Whatever half formed ideas I had were expanded into full thoughts and compounded exponentially on the screen. There was so much new information I could barely absorb it all. I don’t think I moved the entire time.

The movie was born out of the concept of people ignoring their primal urges to just fight. The author, Chuck Palahniuk, said the original idea came from a fight he had on a camping trip, and his coworkers reluctance to ask what happened upon seeing the bruises. When did we become mindless drones? Why are we controlled by our possessions? These are all things asked in the novel and movie. This notion planted a seed in thousands of adult minds, causing them to take inventory of their lives. What do you suppose the effect was on a 16 year old?

As the credits rolled, we sat silence with the crowd, stilling reeling and trying to comprehend the twist ending. After a moment John said in a deeper voice “Alright boys, we checked. You’re not 17. You need to leave.”

I know this movie is a favorite for many. Almost 15 years old and it’s still talked about today. Thankfully they never tried to make a sequel. Getting to see what turned out to be my favorite movie in theaters, on opening night, with my best friend will be cemented in my mind for the rest of my life.

How many times do you see Tyler Durden before officially meeting him? What’s the name of Edward Norton’s character? Comment or tweet!

9 responses to “Fight Club – 50th Post!

  1. I hate to say it (no I don’t!) but you broke the first and second rules of fight club. You don’t talk about fight club! I haven’t seen this movie in years, but I loved it, and I actually told Kaci about it a few weeks ago when we were buying some movies. She hasn’t seen it, so it is definitely next on our list. I’m not sure about the answer to your first question, but Edward Norton is the hulk… I mean, is Tyler Durden. Also, about the ending, which I remember being pretty epic (amazing song choice to play during scene) I was confused by how if Edward Norton was only shot through the cheek, then how did Brad Pitt get shot through the back of the head?

    • You need to get Kaci on that! When you watch, count how many times you see him (it’s really subtle). Also, Edward Norton’s name is not Tyler Durden. This is the way I look at the ending: He need to kill Tyler. He doesn’t know what death feels like (being shot, stabbed, etc.) Shooting himself in the mouth gave him an understanding of it. Using that he projected it so that the bullet went out the back of his head.

      • Oh, she will watch it soon. whether she really wants to or not! The movie doesn’t ever actually give Edward Norton a name though, does it? I mean, they do call him Tyler once he starts to realize that he is both men.

  2. Pingback: Adaptation – Not a Curse Word | The Credible Hulk·

  3. Pingback: The Dark Tower – The Drawing of the Three | The Credible Hulk·

  4. Pingback: Dexter Season 6 – DO NOT WATCH! | The Credible Hulk·

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Movie Directors | The Credible Hulk·

  6. Pingback: The Credible Hulk’s Top 5 Brad Pitt Movies | The Credible Hulk·

Leave a Reply

