The man in black fled across the desert…

…and the gunslinger followed. The opening line from one of my favorite book series, The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger by Stephen King. I love stories in any format; books, television, movies, comic books, animation, video games, and even audio dramas. With this blog (my first, ever, so please excuse any hiccups along the way), I’d like to talk about and promote discussions about different stories from all walks of life. My goal is to keep a healthy rotation of genres, formats, types, etc. If you don’t like today’s post, comeback tomorrow. I’ll post 6 days a week, around 500 words a day. I know, we’re all busy.

I do hate spoilers. I’ll avoid them when possible or throw up the old spoiler warning first. Topic scopes will vary from scenes/chapters/episodes to entire series as a whole. Hopefully I’ll get you interested in a new story. What I’d like more than anything is to promote discussion. If there’s a story you’d like to talk about (whether I’ve experienced it or not) please don’t hesitate to leave a comment, shoot an email (thecredhulk@gmail.com), or tweet @thecredhulk.

I’ve learned a lot over the years watching other stories develop and I’d like to dissect what I thought worked, or didn’t, and why. I figure the best place to start are my favorites. None of these are written in stone and change from time to time. For now I’ll stick to completed fiction works, so A Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones book series), won’t be on my top list for books, though it never had a chance really considering it went off a cliff after the third entry. I’ll definitely get into that nonsense in a later post, but a digress.

My current tops:

Book: It (I reserve the right to change this considering my bookshelf is miles away and I can’t think of anything at the moment)

Television: The Shield (will probably switch to Breaking Bad after it’s finished)

Animation: Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Movie: Memento

Games: Chrono Trigger (Spec-ops: The Line is a close 2nd)

Comic Book: DayTripper (Again, Joe Hill’s Locke & Key when it’s finished)

Audio Drama: We’re Alive (Little bit a cheat considering it’s the only one I’ve ever listened to)

There you have it. At the frequency of consumption I should be able to at least talk about one book, show, movie, game, and comic a week. This will vary as my schedule permits. I’ll talk about whatever I’m currently imbibing as it comes and reach into the well of past experiences when necessary. Future topics will include: Why Futurama made me cry; Why Looper is garbage; Public therapy session because I was forced to see the last Twilight movie; any random personal story I remember, experience or hear.

Tomorrow I’ll pick a story from the above list and dive in. I would tell you but it would ruin the surprise for both of us. And for the two of you reading this the day it came out (this includes me), please to enjoy!

3 responses to “The man in black fled across the desert…

  1. Pingback: The Dark Tower – The Gunslinger | The Credible Hulk·

  2. Pingback: The Dark Tower - The Gunslinger - Blog by TheCredHulk - IGN·

Leave a Reply

